Primer mes de Electra+ gratis con el código PLUS2 -

Descargar la aplicación
Mobility

EV charging time table by car model (2026)

31 ago 2026

NewsroomEV charging time table by car model (2026)
Man in casual attire leans against an Electric car, looking at his phone, with a warm, gradient background. Electra Visual

EV charging time table by electric car

How long does it take to charge an electric car? The answer rarely fits in a single figure, and spec sheets do not help: one manufacturer quotes 30 minutes from 15 to 80%, another 28 minutes from 20 to 80%, a third publishes nothing at all. This guide brings together the manufacturer data for the best-selling models in France, the power levels actually measured in independent tests, and what a charge costs in 2026. Updated on 26 August 2026.

The three factors that determine your charging time

The battery's usable capacity, in kWh, sets the amount of energy to transfer. Watch the difference between gross and usable capacity: a Peugeot e-208 quotes 51 kWh gross but 46.3 kWh actually usable.

The charger's power, in kW, ranges from 2.3 kW on a household socket to 600 kW on our fast-charging stations. It is a ceiling, not a promise.

The power your car accepts is the real limiting factor. It differs by current type: a Renault 5 E-Tech accepts 11 kW on alternating current and 100 kW on direct current. Plugging this car into a 300 kW charger will not charge it any faster than 100 kW.

Charging time table for the best-selling models in France

The ten models below are the most registered electric cars in France over the first seven months of 2026, according to AAA Data. The Renault Scénic E-Tech appears with its two batteries, which have neither the same power nor the same charging time. The times are those provided by the manufacturers, on a DC fast charger, unless stated otherwise.

Model

Usable battery

Max AC

Max DC

Charge time 10 or 15 or 20 to 80%

Renault 5 E-Tech 52 kWh

52 kWh

11 kW

100 kW

30 min (15 to 80%)

Renault Scénic E-Tech 60 kWh

60 kWh

11 kW (22 optional)

130 kW

32 min (15 to 80%)

Renault Scénic E-Tech 87 kWh

87 kWh

11 kW (22 optional)

150 kW

37 min (15 to 80%)

Peugeot e-208

46.3 kWh

7.4 kW (11 optional)

100 kW

Not disclosed

Citroën ë-C3 44 kWh

44.2 kWh

7.4 kW (11 optional)

100 kW

26 min (20 to 80%)

Renault Mégane E-Tech EV60

60 kWh

7.4 kW (22 optional)

130 kW

30 min (15 to 80%)

Renault Twingo E-Tech

27.5 kWh

6.6 kW (11 optional)

50 kW (optional)

30 min claimed, 29 measured (10 to 80%)

Volkswagen ID.4

77 kWh

11 kW

175 kW

Not disclosed

Škoda Elroq 85

77 kWh

11 kW

175 kW

28 min measured (10 to 80%)

Peugeot e-3008 73 kWh

73 kWh

11 kW (22 optional)

160 kW

Not disclosed by Peugeot

Sources: manufacturer documentation consulted on 26 August 2026, AAA Data registration ranking for January to July 2026.

A reading trap to know about. Renault quotes 15 to 80%, Stellantis 20 to 80%, most others 10 to 80%. These ranges do not represent the same amount of energy: comparing the Renault 5's 30 minutes with the Citroën ë-C3's 26 minutes without looking at the range is like comparing two races of different lengths. The Renault actually recharges 65% of its battery, the Citroën 60%.

Claimed power vs measured power: the real gap

The peak power shown in a brochure is held for only a few minutes, sometimes a few seconds. What determines your stop time is the average power over the whole charge, and the gap between the two ranges from 25% to 58% on the models below, reaching 58% on the Tesla Model 3.

Model

Claimed peak

Average measured over 10 to 80%

Measured duration

Renault Scénic E-Tech

150 kW

101 kW

38 min

Volkswagen ID.3 Pro

120 kW

76 kW

32 min

Renault 5 E-Tech

100 kW

75 kW

30 min

Tesla Model 3 Long Range

250 kW

106 kW

33 min

Source: Supertests Automobile Propre, measurements published between 2024 and August 2026, consulted on 26 August 2026.

Read this table from bottom to top. The Tesla Model 3, the best equipped on paper with 250 kW, stops for longer than a Škoda Elroq rated at 175 kW. And the Renault 5, rated at 100 kW, holds an average almost identical to the Volkswagen ID.3 Pro rated at 120 kW. The spec-sheet ranking is not the one at the charger, and we explain why in our fast-charging guide.

How many kilometres do you recover in 30 minutes?

Between 150 and 234 kilometres for the best-selling models in France, and up to 405 kilometres on the best cars on the market. It is the only metric that really counts on a long trip, because it combines charging speed and the vehicle's consumption.

Model

Range recovered in 30 min of fast charging

Renault Scénic E-Tech

206 km

Volkswagen ID.3 Pro

170 km

Renault 5 E-Tech

157 km

Renault 4 E-Tech

150 km

Source: Supertest Automobile Propre, motorway protocol.

A frugal car with an average charge can therefore beat a fast, thirsty car. That is exactly what the peak figure does not tell you.

AC charging time, by battery capacity

On alternating current, at home or at a street charger, the power stays constant from start to finish. So the formula works well: divide the energy to transfer by the power the car accepts. The table below gives the theoretical times to go from 20 to 80%, i.e. 60% of the capacity.

Capacity

2.3 kW socket

7.4 kW wallbox

11 kW wallbox

22 kW charger

50 kWh

13h03

4h03

2h44

1h22

60 kWh

15h39

4h52

3h16

1h38

75 kWh

19h34

6h05

4h05

2h03

90 kWh

23h29

7h18

4h55

2h27

These times assume your car accepts the charger's power. A Twingo E-Tech limited to 6.6 kW will not benefit from an 11 kW wallbox, and most models cap at 11 kW on alternating current, even on a 22 kW charger.

Why are the last percentages so slow?

The charging curve drops well before 80%. Past that threshold, the car sharply reduces power to protect the cells, and the end of the charge stretches out. Measurements confirm it, without making it an absolute rule:

Model

10 to 80%

80 to 100%

Renault Twingo E-Tech

29 min

37 min

Tesla Model 3 Long Range

33 min

39 min

Renault 5 E-Tech 52 kWh

30 min

33 min

Volkswagen ID.3 Pro

32 min

25 min

On most measured models, the last 20% take as long, or even longer, than the previous 70. But it is not a physical law: the ID.3 Pro does the opposite. The Scénic is the most penalised in the panel, taking an hour for its last twenty percent, more than the entire charge before it. On the motorway, the practical conclusion is the same for almost all: leaving at 80% and stopping a second time further on saves time.

How much does a charge cost in 2026?

Between €8 and more than €30 for the same amount of energy: the price depends first on where you plug in.

At home, at the regulated tariff in force since 1 August 2026, the kilowatt-hour costs €0.2001 on the base option and €0.1589 off-peak. Charging the full battery of a Renault 5, i.e. 52 kWh in the car, requires about 58 kWh at the socket once charging losses are counted: about €9.20 at night, for 320 kilometres in mixed use and 225 on the motorway at the consumption levels measured by Automobile Propre.

At a public charger, the gap is considerable, and not always justified by the power. A CLCV study covering more than 200,000 charging points found, on identical 22 kW chargers, prices ranging from €0.36 to €1.033 per kilowatt-hour depending on the payment method used. So the charging pass you use weighs more than the charger you park in front of.

On our network, the price is shown before you plug in, in the app. It varies with demand between €0.39 and €0.61 incl. VAT per kilowatt-hour with the app, and starts at €0.64 incl. VAT without it. Two commitment-free subscriptions reduce this amount on every charge:

Electra+ Essential: €1.99 per month, no commitment, and €0.10 off per kWh on every charge on the Electra network.

Electra+ Smart: €4.99 per month, no commitment, and €0.20 off per kWh on every charge on the Electra network.

Both plans give access to a preferential rate of €0.49 per kWh at Atlante, Fastned and Ionity. Paying annually reduces the subscription amount by 16%.

Source: Electra pricing and Electra+ page, consulted on 26 August 2026.

Frequently asked questions about charging times

How long does it take to charge an electric car on the motorway?

Between 28 and 38 minutes for the best-selling models in France, and as little as 17 minutes on a Porsche Taycan. Models with an 800-volt architecture drop below 20 minutes.

Why doesn't my car charge at the charger's power?

Because the car decides. It limits power depending on its architecture, its state of charge and its battery temperature. A 300 kW charger will never exceed the 100 kW accepted by a Renault 5.

My 22 kW wallbox only charges at 11 kW, is that normal?

Yes. Most electric cars cap at 11 kW on alternating current. Only a few models, including the Renault Scénic and Mégane with the option, accept 22 kW.

How much does a full charge at home cost?

For a 52 kWh battery charged off-peak at the August 2026 regulated tariff, expect about €9.20 including charging losses. The same top-up at a public fast charger costs two and a half to four times more.

Should you charge to 100%?

No, except the day before a long trip. Day to day, staying between 20 and 80% preserves the battery and avoids the final phase, which is the slowest.

Key takeaways

Remember three things from these tables. The peak power a manufacturer advertises is a marketing figure: the average power over the charge and the kilometres recovered in thirty minutes tell the truth, and the gap between the two sometimes reaches a factor of two. The quoted ranges differ from one brand to another, so always compare at equal range. Finally, on a trip, aiming for 80% and setting off again costs less time than waiting for the last percentages, which often take as long as all the rest.

To understand the calculation method rather than consult the tables, read our guide on how to calculate charging time. And to know what technically happens at a fast charger, we devote a full feature to it.

Whatever the model in these tables, our fast-charging stations deliver up to 600 kW per charging point: your car simply takes everything it can handle. With Autocharge, charging starts automatically, with no badge or app, and you can book your slot up to 30 minutes in advance.

To locate the Electra stations near you, download the app on the App Store or Google Play, or check the station map.

Electricity and charging-network prices change several times a year. The regulated prices quoted come from the 1 August 2026 tariff move, tracked by the Commission de régulation de l'énergie.

Written by Nicolas - Electric mobility expert at Electra

The only charging app you will need

4.5/5

on the stores

Download
© 2026 Electra. Todos los derechos reservadosAviso legalCondiciones del servicioPrivacidad